COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARD SCHEME WORKING PARTY held at 2.30 pm at COUNCIL OFFICES LONDON ROAD SAFFRON WALDEN on 11 NOVEMBER 1998

Present:- Councillor Mrs J E Menell - Chairman.

Councillors E C Abrahams, Mrs M R Green, D W Gregory, Mrs G M Preston and R W L

Stone.

Officers in attendance: - S Izzard, M T Purkiss and Miss K Wardley.

I. NOTES

The notes of the meeting of the Working Party held on 14 April 1998 were received, confirmed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

I. NOMINATIONS FOR COMMUNITY ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

Councillor Mrs Green declared an interest in the nomination for Mrs A Barnes and did not vote on this nomination

The Working Party considered nominations which had been received from Parish/Town Councils for Community Achievement Awards in recognition of the contributions which the individuals had made to the benefit of their local community.

Members recalled that earlier this year the scheme had been amended to include the following categories:-

- a service to children and young people (up to age 18)
 - b service to the elderly
 - c service to people with disabilities
 - d service to the local community and environment

It had also been agreed that up to 2 nominations be accepted from each Parish Council and up to 4 from Great Dunmow and Saffron Walden Town Councils and Stansted Parish Council.

Councillor Stone noted that nominations had been received in respect of 9 Parish Councillors and 1 District Councillor. He felt that Parish and District Councillors had a duty to serve their local community and should not expect recognition through an award scheme. He considered that the Amenities Sub-Committee should give further consideration as to whether awards should be made to Parish/Town District Councillors.

It was noted that the District Councillor who had been nominated for an award had asked that her nomination be withdrawn. Councillor Mrs Green considered that a number of Town/Parish Councillors served their community to an extent over and above that which was expected from them in their capacity as a Councillor and she considered that it was appropriate that they should receive some recognition for this if they were nominated. Councillor Abrahams considered that it was particularly important that those people who organised groups such as Cubs, Brownies, Scouts, Guides, Sports Teams and the elderly should be encouraged through the scheme.

It was noted that a number of Parish Councils had not submitted nominations for persons within their community and every effort would be made to encourage more nominations for the 1999/2000 scheme.

RECOMMENDED that

1 the following nominations be submitted to the Amenities Sub-Committee

Category A - Service to Children and Young People

Mr M Mullis Mr R Saunders Mrs J Lawson Mrs J Lipscombe

Category B - Service to the Elderly Page 1

Mrs C Pryer Mrs J Baldwin Mrs J Freeman Mrs J Sell Miss E Tame

Category C - Service to people with disabilities

Mrs P Arnold *Mrs J Charles

Category D - Service to the Local Community and the Environment

Mr F Haggerwood

Mr F Walsh

Mr D Foster

Mrs A Barnes

Mrs B Starr

Mr M Arman

Mrs M Redman

Mrs E Ellis

Mr D King

Mrs M Underwood

Mrs J Wilkinson

Mr J Perry

Mr R Weston

Mr W Lomas

Mrs M Richardson

Mr R Wisbey

Mrs F Smith

Mr E Field

Mrs N Field

Mrs J Swan

*The Working Party noted the sad death of Mrs J Charles after she had been nominated and her family would be asked if they would be prepared to accept a posthumous award.

- 2 Radwinter Parish Council be advised that an award cannot be made to Mr J Hardisty this year as only 2 nominations were permitted under the scheme for each Parish Council.
- 3 the Certificates be presented in the form of a scroll tied with a red ribbon.
- 4 the Award Ceremony be held on the evening of 18 February 1998 and be followed by a buffet.

The meeting ended at 4.00 pm.